Betting Insider

Naby Keita backed to win PFA Player Of The Year

New Liverpool signing Keita has received more bets than any other player to win the coveted prize.

Going from 20/1 to as short as 12/1 in just a couple of hours, Naby Keita has become the punters’ surprise pick to win the PFA Player Of The Year award.

The Guinean midfielder has received 41% of all bets in this market so far, with fans starting to believe he will play a key role in an increasingly exciting Liverpool side.

His playstyle has often been compared to N’Golo Kanté – who won the award in 2017 where he was instrumental in Chelsea’s Premier League triumph – which perhaps explains his sudden wave of backing in this market.

Naby Keita backed to win PFA Player Of The Year

History suggests Keita faces an uphill battle to claim the award. Just two defensively minded players – Kanté and John Terry – have won PFA Player Of The Year in the 21st Century.

Liverpool activated Keita’s release clause last summer, agreeing to sign the player from RB Leipzig after one more season with the German club, for a total of close to £62m.

Elsewhere, teammate Mohamed Salah is the favourite to win the prize for a second season in a row, currently sitting at 10/1. Kevin De Bruyne, on the back of a remarkable campaign last season, is second favourite at 12/1.

Oldest first
Newest first
What are you thinking about? Leave your comment.